top of page

Heavy Metal EP

A little late to getting around to posting about this, but better late than never! A couple weeks ago, I set up some drums for a recording session with Mike Roman (No More Pain, The Mason Ray, Shadow Box) and Ryan Sullivan for a three-song EP. As of right now, I am not aware of any project name, but I can promise some good, straightforward, in-your-face metal. When I first heard the songs that Mike and Ryan had been working on, it gave me some Killswitch Engage / Lamb Of God vibes, so I tried to emulate that in the context of the music.

As for the setup, I decided to try something new this time around. Usually, when I scale back to a five-piece kit, bring my standard 10" and 12" rack toms with my 14" floor tom. This time, however, I thought it'd be interesting to try using the 8" and 10" rack toms and one of the 16" floor toms instead, and I honestly liked it better that way. Exaggerating the difference in diameter (and thus pitch) between the high and low drums made everything stand out a lot more. For the sake of not leaving anything out, I'll mention that the kick and snare were 22" and 14", respectively. For the cymbals, I used a pair of 14" Sabian AAX Freq Hats, an 18" Sabian AAX Freq Crash, an 18" Sabian AAX Dark Crash, a 20" Sabian HHX Evolution Ride, a 19" Sabian AA Holy China, and 9" & 11" Sabian AAX Max Splashes. The pedals are the newest model of the Tama Speed Cobras (the best on the market, in my humble opinion).

We recorded drums for the EP in Nishit Nandankar's home studio, and I can honestly say that he's one of the best producers I've gotten to work with. A bit of soundproofing and some well-placed mics, and the living room turned into a world-class studio (well, at least in sound)!

bottom of page